Chartered September 16, 2003

About Us

Our Probus Club has a membership of over 280 retired and semi-retired professional and business persons, executives and others meeting once a month to hear a presentation by a notable speaker providing topical, interesting, intellectually stimulating, food for thought.  Member’s guests are welcome at our meetings and will enjoy the fellowship preceding the formal presentation.

History of the Club’s Beginning

A message from the inaugural President and Archivist – John Leonard:
“In February of 2003, Don Brinton and I decided it was time for a Probus club on the North Shore.  We approached the Vancouver Probus Club and they agreed to sponsor our application. And it was Pidge McBride who steered us through the proper channels so that we could get started and hold our charter meeting in September.  Incidentally, we didn’t know how many members we would have to start…30, 50 or maybe 60….so we were amazed when we had over 150 members signed up by that charter meeting.”

2020 – 2021 Management Committee

President – Ron Wood
Vice-President – Darryl Stodalka
Past President – Herb Grubel
Secretary – Keith Fenton
Treasurer – Gordon Adair
Communications Chair – Tom Gunn
House – Terry McLeod
Membership Chair – Jeremy Marr
Speakers Chair – John Elliott
Special Events Chair – Doug Magoon


Administrator: Webmaster and support for MC and Committees,
• Linda Metcalfe

Committee Support Groups:

Communications, Chaired by Tom Gunn
• Linda Metcalfe, Shorelines Editor and Publisher
House, Chaired by Terry McLeod
Membership, Chaired by Jeremy Marr
•Pete Stacey
Speakers, Chaired by John Elliott
Special Events, Chaired by Doug Magoon
• Nigel Clarke
• Gordon Cook
• Pete Stacey
•John Strom
• John Walker
• Roman Cehelnycky, Bridge and Golf Organizer, Fraser Grant, 
Barry Heselgrave

Past Presidents

2019/2020 – Herb Grubel
2018/2019 – Jim Grey
2017/2018 – John Zaplatynsky
2016/2017 – Dave Walker
2015/2016 – Mike McMahon
2014/2015 – Barry Heselgrave
2013/2014 – Don Leier
2012/2013 – Fraser Grant
2011/2012 – Alex Tunner
2010/2011 – Dan Potts
2009/2010 – David Osoba
2008/2009 – Esio Marzotto
2007/2008 – Art Eberwein
2006/2007 – Brian Cooper
2005/2006 – Donald Brinton
2004/2005 – Stuart McNeill
2003/2004 – John Leonard (Founding)